Reviews

9.3
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
9.6
Comfort
9.2
Property location
9.2
Facilities
9.2
Staff
9.7
Value
9.2

Reviews

    Carly
    us

    Review score

    10
    16 April 2018

    Best hostel I have ever stayed in!

    I loved my short time at IMAYA! I met great people right away and felt very comfortable and at home. The location was great, right near trains, buses and subways and within walking distance to great food and sights. The owner was wonderful, very hospitable and friendly. There was a welcome drink provided and a gift of lavender for your bag at check-out. I was sad to leave!
    Romain
    gb

    Review score

    9.6
    16 April 2018
    Very very nice and relaxed atmosphere! Lovely for solo travellers.
    Jonas Schneider
    de

    Review score

    10
    15 April 2018

    Great place, great host.

    Naruto was the perfect host! Kind, attentive, communicative. I highly recommend you to stay here.
    bm

    Review score

    10
    12 April 2018
    Naoto is an exceptional host. Generous, helpful and great guy. I highly recommend this hostel to anyone.
    Luke
    gb

    Review score

    10
    9 April 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Marta
    gb

    Review score

    9.6
    8 April 2018
    It was quite pricey but we went in the cherry blossom season.. so same as everywhere else in Kyoto!
    Nauto the hostel manager is a lovely person and helped us a lot - even booking a restaurant for us! Everything is clean and organised, even in a small space.
    Aneka
    ie

    Review score

    9.2
    7 April 2018

    A clean, friendly environment

    We travelled during Cherry Blossom season so we expected the price to be higher than usual however this accommodation was more expensive than all the other places we stayed in Japan (which were twin/double rooms with a private bathroom).
    Naoto, the owner, was very welcoming & friendly. The capsules have USB charging ports & also a Japanese plug socket. The whole place was very clean & the bathroom/washroom facilities were great.
    LIN
    cn

    Review score

    10
    6 April 2018

    Excellent

    It’s a good experience stay in IMAYA ,quiet dormitory,tidy surroundings,kind and sweet hosteler ,we can easily know that hosteler is a thoughtful man from every surrounding ,hope to see u again
    Yiling
    cn

    Review score

    9.2
    6 April 2018
    the dorm has many bed without fresh air, so smells a bit. not much travel information provided.
    the bar downstairs has good atmosphere was really nice ,breakfast was bit expensive but interesting. the owner lived in france before so could speak english and French.
    Katie
    gb

    Review score

    9.6
    5 April 2018
    can’t really fault this place. The owner is one of the nicest people ever. My card got duped whilst I was in Vietnam and he held onto my new one until I arrived. Cleanest place ever, beds are super comfy and the location is perfect. Off down a side street which is great for getting a good sleep. The cafe bit, we were allowed to bring our own food and eat it in there which was incredibly helpful. It was hard to leave this place, just amazing
    gb

    Review score

    9.2
    2 April 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Jessica
    ie

    Review score

    9.6
    31 March 2018

    I had an excellent stay at Imaya! Couldn’t have asked for a better host and the hostel was spotless!

    From the moment I arrived, the hosts were incredibly kind and helpful! There is a really welcoming and calm atmosphere in the hostel, and the beds were very comfy (providing an excellent nights sleep after a long day of travel!). I can’t recommend it enough :)
    Mik
    gb

    Review score

    10
    30 March 2018
    Excellent host. Great stay in capsule accommodation
    Luk
    be

    Review score

    7.9
    9 March 2018
    Friedndly owner , speaks good english for japanese guy , very helpfull
    Philipp Schmid
    ch

    Review score

    10
    19 February 2018

    Perfect

    What can I say...a solid 10/10. The owner was very friendly and will help you wherever he can. The facilities are great and always clean, the beds are big and comfy, have plugs, light and privacy. You can get great coffee and a nice little breakfast in the cafe downstairs, the prices are more than fair. The hostel is located in a quiet neighborhood, close to public transport, city center and Nijo Castle.
    gb

    Review score

    10
    16 February 2018

    Amazing stay

    Was slightly cold
    Host was amazing and extremely helpful. Very cheap breakfast and coffee. Rooms were very nice and beds were comfortable. Wifi was super fast. Also has a nintendo switch to use for free!
    Fernando Fucili
    ar

    Review score

    10
    11 February 2018

    Small and cozy “home sweet home”

    Naoto is such a great person very respectfull and always willing to give amazing tips and recommendations, the rooms are upstairs and every space is calculated to the minimum with the exception of the bed, they are just perfect!
    Matt
    au

    Review score

    10
    31 January 2018
    Honestly one of my favourite experiences travelling so far! The hostel was incredibly comfortable and clean. But the best part was the host. He was so accommodating to all of our questions and requests, and gave the best recommendations for our time in Kyoto...he never steered us wrong! When I visit Kyoto next, I’ll definitely be staying here again!
    Khairuldin
    my

    Review score

    10
    17 January 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Khairuldin
    my

    Review score

    10
    14 January 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
Loading reviews