Reviews

9.4
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
9.7
Comfort
9.2
Property location
9.2
Facilities
9.2
Staff
9.7
Value
9.2

Reviews

    Henri
    no

    Review score

    10
    11 June 2018
    The place is great, good facilities and located in a quiet location in the city. Owner Naoto is a wonderful host, helped with all necessary questions and was really making sure that i had a good stay. Appreciate the help and i look forward to visit your lovely place again one day.
    AMY
    cn

    Review score

    10
    10 June 2018

    Great

    Naoto is a very good guy,the place is near railway station,very convenient,and it has a little lovely bar.Thank you Naoto.
    Diego
    au

    Review score

    9.6
    4 June 2018
    The host is awesome. I lost my bag in the subway and he helped me find it. Great location and really clean
    Ziga
    si

    Review score

    10
    4 June 2018

    Very nice stay at Imaya

    Maybe Naoto can explore a more airy material for the bunk curtains to let more fresh air inside the bunk, but keep same level of privacy and comfort.
    The hostel was modern and clean. Owner Naoto is very friendly and takes good care of the guests. I am not used to staying at hostels and I was a bit skeptic to stay at one, but after seeing Imaya, I was looking forward to sleep in the bunk :)
    id

    Review score

    10
    30 May 2018

    Nice neighborhood, good for a stroll

    Location was great. Close to manga museum, in a really nice neighborhood near to loads of indie shops & restaurants. Facilities are top notch. Fan in each bed was a god send in the hot weather.
    Candida
    us

    Review score

    10
    20 May 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    eri
    jp

    Review score

    10
    19 May 2018

    special time for me in KYOTO.

    Naoto was a very friendly guy and gave me special coffee time! IMAYA is the cleanest hostel that i have ever been. #山食音#yamasyokuon
    Kirstin
    at

    Review score

    9.6
    17 May 2018
    The hostel is conveniently located near a subway station. The dormitory room itself is quite small, but you can easily spend some time in the coffeeshop downstairs which everyone can use as common area (it's no problem to bring your own food/drinks). You can buy breakfast for 400 Yen in the coffeeshop downstairs and it's very tasty (grilled sandwich, soft boiled egg, yoghurt+granola).
    Gonul
    jp

    Review score

    9.2
    16 May 2018
    Naoto, owner of the place is one of the best host you can ever meet! He tried to help us whatever he could in a sincere way! The way he treat you is make you feel like home especially when you clench it with his amazing breakfast! Besides all, the place was very clean and the location was convenient.
    Hakan Mustafa
    ca

    Review score

    10
    14 May 2018

    Amazing guesthouse with an amazing host and comfortable bed in a central area.

    Nothing.
    Naotomo is the best host you can ever meet. He learns your name real quick, makes you feel welcomed, he prepares really delicious simple food. He makes amazing coffee. He has a nintendo switch you can play, he helps you to make an iternary for Kyoto. He is an awesome person. He deserves all the recognitions. Bed is really comfortable, facility is incredibly clean, location is amazing, it’s close to everywhere. You get more than what you’re paying for. A true representation of famous Japanese hospitalty!
    KW
    hk

    Review score

    9.2
    13 May 2018

    Wonderful hostel experience

    Nothing at all.
    Very caring,friendly and accommodating staff. Naoto goes out of his way to make guests feel welcomed. Cleanliness is highly maintained that other hostelers including myself could well respect the high standard. The cafe plus hostel atmosphere is cozy and laid back.
    Wing Tung
    hu

    Review score

    10
    9 May 2018
    Imaya has the best host. I am so glad I made the choice!
    zoi oi
    gr

    Review score

    8.8
    7 May 2018
    Naoto is an amazing host! He helped us with everything. The location is super.
    Tawab
    nl

    Review score

    10
    7 May 2018
    Tall guys (6’4+) should take care, because the cealings are really low at some places.
    Naoto (the owner) is a really friendly guy. Not just like all other hostels, he actually took time to remember your name and have a good conversation with you. Great guy!
    Marco Miguel
    de

    Review score

    8.3
    3 May 2018
    There is no real air condition in the room. The one which is there is very loud and turned off at night. It was way to hot. Furthermore there is no normal bed linen. They tell you to use a thin white blanked below the normal blanked. Please just buy a real bed linen. The location is good but not perfect, you can walk to the Nijo castle and also Gion if you want. But there is no JR station close and using the subway everyday will lost you 1000¥ a day if you go home once a day.
    The host is really helpful and friendly! It was very clean, you could walk around barefoot everywhere. The facilities and the comfort would be perfect except for...
    Katie
    au

    Review score

    9.2
    2 May 2018
    Kitchen was quite small but there's many options to eat in Kyoto so I didn't need to use it much. Also, the stairs are narrow and quite steep so you need to take care when using them. This may be typical of Japanese stairs though.
    Staff were lovely. When I arrived I was given the top bunk but was offered the lower bunk when the person below me checked out the next day. There are two rooms and I was in the smaller one so it was really quiet too, which was great. Little bit of a walk from the closest subway station, but not too far. It's in a really quiet neighbourhood as well. Really enjoyed my stay here.
    Mason
    us

    Review score

    10
    14 June 2018

    Amazing

    Great service the guy who runs the place can communicate with Japanese and English speaking customers very well. Very clean facilities along with a friendly lobby environment where it is nice to lounge and meet all types of new people in! All very easy and comfortable to stay in 10/10 would recommend.
    Yoko
    jp

    Review score

    9.2
    9 May 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Becky
    us

    Review score

    9.2
    5 May 2018

    Very small but clean hostel

    Good location (close to both of Kyoto's subway lines) and very, very clean. The manager is always on-site and speaks great English. Nice place to stay overall, but it is tiny. There's a small kitchen with a hot plate and fridge. No common space really, besides the small cafe that closes at 11pm. The capsule spaces are small but didn't bother me after I got used to it. If you just need a clean place to sleep, this would work great.
    Ladina
    ch

    Review score

    9.6
    1 May 2018
    Naoto is a great host - so helpful with everything you might want to know or need. I met a lot of other travellers immediately, because when hanging out at the café downstairs, all you do is talk :) breakfast was delicious, coffee too!
Loading reviews